As in the last few years, expect exciting and entertaining plenary talks, invited and contributed technical talks, and the ever-popular poster session, with a preceeding poster pitch talk session with lots of opportunity to catch up with your colleagues, and an exhibition of the latest gadgets and services from our industry partners - see the detailed schedule below.

You can download the post-print or final printed conference program here. Please don't print it out, you will receive a paper copy at the registration. If you feel we missed a contribution, or if you spotted a mistake, please contact us at for post-mortem corrections.

Plenary talks

We are proud to host the following excellent scientists as plenary speakers this year:

Tomasz PATEREK, Nanyang Technological University:
Non-classicality of uncharacterised objects and processes
Carl M. BENDER, Washington University St. Louis:
PT symmetry
Vitor M. PEREIRA, National University of Singapore:
Charge density wave and superconducting order in TiSe2 driven by excitonic condensation and its fluctuation
YANG Hui Ying, singapore University of Technology and Design:
Advanced Two-dimensional Nanomaterials: Synthesis to Applications
Manas MUKHERJEE, National University of Singapore:
Sensing and simulation with a single ion
LIEW Chi Hin, Timothy, Nanyang Technological University:
Artificial life and neuromorphic computing based on exciton-polariton lattices

Posters and more

We have reserved ample time for many poster presentations where you can interact directly with your fellow researchers. Like last years, researchers who submitted a poster can choose to present in 3 minutes their work to the while IPS audience in the Rapid Fire Poster Pitch session, and lure more fellow researchers to their poster. The poster session comes of course with pizza supply later on, during which we also will announce the this-year's best poster awards.
Please design your poster in a A1 format portrait orientation, or it will not fit on the poster walls.

Technical sessions

The conference features several sessions of technical talks, both invited and contributed, which give opportunity to get first-hand information in various research topics. Contributed talks will be 12min + 3min Q&A, invited talks 15 + 5min.


Take this opportunity also to interact with suppliers for physical sciences products and services at the exhibition who continue to sponsor this event!

Quantum vision meeting

Following up with the earlier quantum vision meeting at NTU this year on the future of quantum sciene and technologies in Singapore, we will have a follow-up meeting at this IPS event. More to come soon.

Singapore Physics Olympiad Award Ceremony

As one of large activities of IPS is to support and develop talent in physics in schools through Olympiades and contests, we honor some of the brightest students from these activities with an award Ceremony, and co-host them with the IPS research meeting to perhaps allow to make the first connections for the bright sparks of the next generation on Thursday afternoon in the casual Poster and networking session.

Conference Schedule

We are currently finalizing the program, so if you find any problems with the schedule, please let us know as soon as possible via email to

Wednesday, 13 March 2019

8:45am - 9:15am Registration (Central Bridge)
9:15am - 09:30am Opening Address
Venue: LT2
9:30am - 10:15am Plenary session P1: Tomasz Paterek
Venue: LT2
10:15am - 11:00am Plenary session P2: Carl M. Bender
Venue: LT2
11:00am - 11:30pm Coffee break & exhibition (Venue: Central Bridge)
11:30am - 12:30pm T1: (venue: tt7)
Atomic Physics I
T2: (venue: tt9/10)
Physics of Perovskites
T3: (venue: tt8)
12:30pm - 2:00pm Lunch & exhibition
2:00pm - 3:30pm T4: (venue: tt7)
Quantum Communication
T5: (venue: tt9/10)
Metamaterials and Photonics
T6: (venue: tt8)
Many-Body Physics
3:30pm - 4:00pm Coffee break & exhibition (Venue: Central Bridge)
4:00pm - 5:30pm T7: (venue: tt7)
Classical and Quantum Optics
T8: (venue: tt9/10)
Optical Materials

Thursday, 14 March 2019

9:30am - 10:15am Plenary session P3: Vitor Pereira
Venue: LT2
10:15am - 11:00am Plenary session P4: Yang Hui Ying
Venue: LT2
11:00am - 11:30pm Coffee break & exhibition (Venue: Central Bridge)
11:30am - 12:45pm Poster pitch session Venue: LT2
12:45pm - 2:00pm Lunch & exhibition
2:00pm - 3:30pm T9: (venue: tt9/10)
Physics in 2D Materials
T10: (venue: tt7)
Quantum Information
T11: (venue: tt8)
Biophysics and Microfluidics
3:30pm - 4:00pm Coffee break & exhibition (Venue: Central Bridge)
4:00pm - 5:30pm Poster session & exhibition
5:30pm - 6:30pm++ Poster Awards & Pizza & Drinks

Friday, 15 March 2019

9:30am - 10:15am Plenary session P5: Manas Mukherjee
Venue: LT2
10:15am - 11:00am Plenary session P6: Timothy Liew
Venue: LT2
11:00am - 11:30pm Coffee break (Venue: Central Bridge)
11:30am - 13:00pm T12: (venue: tt7)
Topological effects in Materials
T13: (venue: ttt8)
Atomic Physics II
T14: (venue: tt9/10)
Statistical Physics and Complexity

Past Programs

For history-of-science enthusiasts, we conserve the programs of the IPS meeting 2018, 2017, 2016, 2015, 2014, 2013 and 2012.